People of the year awards



The People of the Year Awards, organised by Rehaband sponsored by QUINN-healthcare, provide a unique opportunity for the Irish public to honour outstanding contributions by individuals to life on the island. Nominations are welcomed on an all-island basis.

Each year members of the public nominate people who have enhanced the quality of life in Ireland, increased civic pride, or through acts of bravery have touched the lives of the community.

The list of winners since the awards began in 1975 reads like a who's who of Irish life over more than a quarter of a century. John Hume, Padraig Harrington, Mo Mowlam, Brian Keenan, Veronica Guerin, Sir Bob Geldof, Seamus Heaney and Maeve Binchy are just some of the previous award winners.

But in addition to these household names, a particular focus of the event is the "unsung heroes" who have made a difference at community level. Download the full list of recipients of People of the Year Awards since 1975.

The award recipients are chosen from the public nominations by adjudicators comprising leading members of the media, business, public service and community sectors.

The 2008 People of the Year Awards were held on Saturday, 13th September and were televised live by RTÉ One.

For press and general queries about the People of the Year Awards, please contact Dara Duffy at (01) 205 7268 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information